Theresa Andersson (and LW3)

Talk about coincidents.

For a few days now, I’ve been reemerging myself into the music of the wonderful, wonderful Loudon Wainwright III. (In the summer I promised a friend I’d make her a compilation CD, I finally got around to it…)

So Loudon’s been on my mind today when, at first, a friend asked about the movie Cabaret, which of course won Liza Minnelli her Best Actress Oscar in 1973. And who happened to be a childhood friend of Minnelli and, later in 1973, recorded a song, Liza, addressing her and her recent awards win? Loudon Wainwright III.

But the real Baader-Meinhof Phenomenon kicked in a few minutes later. I was browsing through a few YouTube-videos I had linked to this year (preparing for the upcoming Top 10-post) and got to one of Theresa Anderrson. From there I found a live performance of hers, Blue Skies:

And who is that, at 3’40”, sitting in the audience, with who I think is his daughter Martha?

Loudon Wainwright III, Martha Wainwright
Loudon Wainwright III.

That is all.

Leave a Reply

