Movies 2010: charts, bars, graphs

Couple of hours left til Oscar nominations are announced, so I’m killing time by doing what I had planned to do a few weeks ago: using my extensive list of all the movies I’ve seen last year and creating some fun (if not interesting) figures. Here goes:

Language

No real surprises here. ‘Other’ languages include Greek, Danish, Italian, Arabic and Hebrew. 8 movies were dubbed into German.

Decade

Keep in mind that the 10s (tens? teens?) are only one year. So that’s a lot of new movies I’ve watched last year. That’s even clearer when you look at the period from 2000 to 2010:

Date data

I don’t know what it is about Tuesdays, but that’s when I’m most likely to watch a movie, apparently.

Movies watched per month, with added bonus of movies watched at the cinema (in red). It’s nice to see how I’m watching less films in the summer and that I managed to squeeze in some movie theater love almost every single month.

And some more statistics:

I have seen 156 different movies in 2010, 7 of them twice, for a total of 163 movie watchings and 17,181 minutes of film. That’s 11 days, 22 hours and 21 minutes.

The average movie would be 106 minutes, from 1996, and most likely directed by Pedro Almodóvar.

I have not seen a single film from the year 1996 last year.

Leave a Reply

