June’s movies reviewed

  • Rachel Getting Married (Jonathan Demme, 2008)
    My favourite film. Watched it in black-and-white this time. Some scenes are too dark for it, but others are quite beautiful.
     
  • À bout de souffle (Breathless) (Jean-Luc Godard, 1960)
    Still catching up on the classics. The hotel scene is pure genius, Godard is a masterful director.
     
  • Alle anderen (Everyone Else) (Maren Ade, 2009)
    This may be a film best seen alone. This time, with company, it didn’t really work. Loved it the first time around, though.
     
  • M (Fritz Lang, 1931)
    The 2011 restauration. Great quality, great content. Timeless movie. I highly recommend you check it out if you haven’t yet.
     
  • The Hangover Part II (Todd Phillips, 2011)
    Meh. Kind of funny in a few places, kind of unneccessary in most others.
     
  • Romeo + Juliet (Baz Luhrmann, 1996)
    I had seen this in the cinema when I was 14 but not since. Some things are too over the top for my taste, but all the actors are in top form.
     
  • Rabbit Hole (John Cameron Mitchell, 2010)
    Great, powerful, sad, beautiful movie. Loved it.
     
  • Unknown (Jaume Collet-Serra, 2011)
    I expected something more kick-ass like “Taken“. Still, this one was very entertaining. Just don’t pay too much attention to the plot…
     
  • Cría cuervos (Carlos Saura, 1976)
    The child acting in this Spanish drama is superb, but the movie is too slowly paced for my taste.
     
  • When Harry Met Sally… (Rob Reiner, 1989)
    Did I say “Rachel Getting Married” was my favourite film? I meant to say “When Harry Met Sally“. It’s perfect. Works perfectly in black-and-white, too.
     
  • Wanted (Timur Bekmambetov, 2008)
    A lot of fun. See my review here.
     
  • Paul (Greg Mottola, 2011)
    I have mixed feelings about thios one. It’s an okay movie, I guess. Better than okay, even. Just not… great.
     
  • Flightplan (Robert Schwentke, 2005)
    Competent thriller. Did nothing to cure my fear of flying, though…

Leave a Reply

