Vampire, Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

You guys, I have so many movies lying around that I still haven’t seen. So many. And good ones, too. Some of them are considered ‘essential viewing’ by some.

But I try to catch up. But with so many titles to choose from, how do I decide? I don’t even know what kind of joghurt to buy if there’s more than one brand.

So the other day I had two thoughts regarding what to watch next. The first one came from the bitter realization that these days (with all the film festivals and early Oscar buzz happening around me) it’s really frustrating to read about films that I won’t be able to watch for quite some time. “Shame” (with Michael Fassbender), “A Dangerous Method” (with Michael Fassbender), “Martha Marcy May Marlene“, “Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy“, “The Descendants” (with George Clooney) and a whole lot more. One new film that’s on my mind a lot these days is Soderbergh’s “Contagion“.

Since I can’t see any of those films right now, I decided to do the next best thing and find ones by the same filmmakers that I could watch. And it turned out that I have, but hadn’t seen yet, Soderbergh’s “Out of Sight” (with George Clooney). And knowing that the next episode of Filmspotting will have Adam and Matty’s ‘Top 5 Soderbergh Scenes’, this was a perfect fit.

Okay, so I watched that. (It’s great!) Then for the next film I started a whole new thought process. I recently watched Tom McCarthy’s “Win Win” and been reading about Paul Giamatti’s odds of a Best Actor nomination. The article (by Mark Harris, who I love and you should, too) mentions Richard Jenkins’ nomination for another McCarthy film, “The Visitor” (one of my all time favorites). And I remembered that Jenkins created some minor buzz last year for his performance in Matt Reeves’ “Let Me In“. So I wanted to watch that. But it’s a remake! So at first I wanted to watch the Swedish original, Tomas Alfredson’s “Låt den rätte komma in” (Let The Right One In).

I did. (It’s good.) Afterwards, I checked out the director’s IMDb-page to see what else he had done. His latest? A little film called “Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy“. So without knowing it, I actually did watch something from a filmmaker whose new film I’ve been reading about the last few weeks.

Leave a Reply

