On Reviews

I have my share of problems with movie reviews. I generally tend to avoid them, at least until I have seen the film in question. I know that the purpose of most reviews is to help the reader decide whether to take the trip to the cinema, wait for the home video or skip the film entirely, but I prefer to know as little as possible about a film before I see it, so even “spoiler free” reviews usually spoil too much for me.

Now, of course I don’t live in a bubble, either. Far from it, actually, since a majority of the websites, blogs, and Twitter folks I follow are all about movies. Movies that are, in almost all of the cases, so far away from a German release date (especially a release that is not dubbed), that, for me, it’s never really about deciding for or against seeing a movie in a cinema. Beggars can’t be choosers, and here in Trier, I am very much a beggar for undubbed cinema. I’ll take what I can get. (And it looks like the situation is going to get a bit better, but that’s a topic for another time.)

I do like to read or hear about the movies I have seen, though. And this is where most reviews don’t go deep enough into the movie. I love things like the Slate Spoiler Specials, where film critic (and all-around awesome person) Dana Stevens, usually accompanied by Dan Kois or other critics, will discuss a movie in its entirety, shocking twist at the end, cookie after the credits and all. But most written reviews will stay shy of going into any plot details that happen in the second half of a movie, which are usually the ones I’m most interested in hearing about.

I saw “The Dark Knight Rises” last night, and since this is one of the few opportunities to share my thoughts on a film that is still in theaters, I would like to do just that, but I’m not sure how. In case I come up with anything, you will find it here. Until then: Do you read reviews? Do you write them? How do you handle spoilers?

One thought on “On Reviews

  1. Ich brauche Kritiken. Und ich brauche Kritiker, denen ich vertrauen kann. Ich wüsste wirklich nicht, was ich ohne den Filmwegweiser meines Vertrauens (namens Film-Dienst) tun sollte. Publikumsbewertungen oder persönliche Empfehlungen reichen mir nicht. Ich brauche da eine verlässliche Instanz, die mir auch randständige Filme, von denen ich sonst nie erfahren hätte, schmackhaft macht.
    Ich wüsste allerdings auch gerne, wo man zusätzlich gute Filmanalysen (Kritiken sind nun mal nicht gleich Analysen) jenseits von Fachliteratur findet.
    In Sachen Spoiler: Ich selbst lasse Inhaltsangaben bei meinen Filmbegegnungsbeschreibungen (es sind ja keine objektiven Kritiken) fast völlig aus. In Spoilergebiet komme ich also eher selten. Aber wenn, dann nehme ich keine Rücksicht. Ich würde nicht explizit ein Ende beschreiben, aber wenn ich das Bedürfnis habe, etwas dazu zu schreiben, dann mache ich das einfach. Meine fünf Leser werden es mir schon verzeihen. Mit Spoilern in Kritiken habe ich selbst auch kein großes Problem – sofern sie den Filmgenuss nicht erheblich beeinträchtigen (ein Film ist schließlich nicht nur Handlung). Nach meinem persönlichen „The Dark Knight Rises“-Desaster werde ich mich aber hüten, wieder so viel, fast alles vorher über einen Film zu erfahren (falls ich mich zurückhalten kann). Wenn man das Gefühl hat, den gesamten Film schon gesehen zu haben, ist doch irgendwas schiefgelaufen. Völlig unwissend und ohne eine bestimmte Erwartungshaltung stolpere ich aber auch nicht gerne ins Kino. Ich sehe zwar viel, bin dafür aber erstaunlich wählerisch (selbst im Heim”kino”).

    Wenn es also nach mir ginge: Schreib so über einen Film, wie du magst. Du kannst ja gerne dick „Spoiler“ drüberschreiben, aber wenn man in ein Blog nicht so schreiben kann, wie es einen drängt, wieso dann überhaupt schreiben? Und: Ich würde sehr gerne mehr Worte von dir über Filme lesen, ganz egal, ob in Form von Kritik, Analyse oder subjektiver Gefühlsduselei.

Leave a Reply

