[You probably haven’t seen] “Cairo Time” (Ruba Nadda, 2009)

The film:Cairo Time” (2009), written and directed by Ruba Nadda, starring Patricia Clarkson and Alexander Siddig.

What’s it about? Cairo, and the time two people spend there. (I hate describing what movies are about. Just watch the damn thing.)

Why you probably haven’t seen it: Because you likely haven’t even heard about it before. It’s a small-budget Canadian independent production that played a few festivals (and won a few awards) but never got a wide release. (Wow, I just got the strangest déjà vu.)

Where you can get it? On blu-ray from Amazon.com/.de, stream it on Netflix Instant, or rent it from LoveFilm.de.

How do I know it? Patricia Clarkson (who I love and so do you) talked to Elvis Mitchell of The Treatment about “Cairo Time” in August of 2010. I came relatively late to Clarkson, I first saw her in Thomas McCarthy’s “The Station Agent” (which is also one of my favorite films you probably haven’t seen yet), and when I heard her describing the shoot in Cairo and working with Nadda and Siddig (who, as Deep Space Nine‘s Dr. Bashir, will always have a soft spot in my heart) I knew I had to check out the film.

And I absolutely loved it. It even passed muster with two of my more picky friends at a second viewing. And with my goal to watch more movies directed by women this month (and the film finally being available in high definition to me) I can’t wait to see it a third time in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

