Movies 2012: charts, bars, graphs and stuff

I have never watched more films in one year than I have in 2012. Not sure if that’s a good thing, but that’s how it is. 254 movie viewings, 242 unique films (10 watched more than once). 26,587 minutes (about 18.5 days) of film.

This first graph took forever to compile, so I’m putting it here even though it didn’t turn out to be as pretty or useful as I had imagined. It’s the number of movies watched for any given seven day period (from three days before to three days after). Makes sense, right?

7day-average

Anyway, the takeaway from this is that in any given week, I have seen an average of 4.84 films, and more than once I crammed twelve films into seven days. Those nine days in the middle where I didn’t see anything must have been that one time it didn’t rain, I guess?

The average release year of all the movies I’ve seen in 2012 is 1995. I have seen exactly one movie released in 1995 in 2012, David Fincher’s “Se7en.”

decadeBack when I did the 500 films post, I noted that I started to watch more old films when I got Netflix Instant. That certainly was true at first, but for more than half the months since April, the average release year of the films I’ve streamed (red graph) was actually greater than the overall average (blue bars):

avg-yearAnd speaking of Netflix, it clearly dominated the way I watched movies in 2012, with 94 films streamed (37%), followed by 58 titles rented via by-mail flat rate (23%), 23 visits to the cinema (9%), 9 rented from the local video store, and 7 streamed from iTunes. The smaller chart shows just the months April through December.

source-all

As with any year since DVDs are sold (’98?), the vast majority of the films I’ve seen in 2012 were English language, but I did manage to squeeze a few other languages in there:

lang-en-other“Other languages” are French (16 films), German (9), Spanish (6), Arab Farsi (3), Italian (2), as well as Russian, Swedish, Cantonese, Danish, Japanese, Portuguese and Turkish (one each). I watched two movies dubbed into German (I know, I know…).

old-new199 of the 254 films were new to me, 55 I had seen before. The average release year for the films in each of these categories is actually the same as the overall average, 1995, which kinda surprised me. I’d have thought that the films new to me would be newer in general, too. On my crude 4-point scale of “Hated it! – Meh. – Liked it. – Loved it!,” I loved 69% of the films I had seen before (makes sense) but only 38% of the films new to me. I actively hated only three movies this year: “Harold & Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay,” “Angel” and “Die Wand.”

projectedOf the 23 times I went to a movie theater in 2012, 16 were to Trier’s Broadway Filmtheater and six to Trier’s CinemaxX (with two 3D showings). Since I got the home projector for my birthday, I’ve watched 61 films projected at home and only 14 on the TV or computer screen.

lengthIt’s always nice to have a Gaussian distribution somewhere. This one shows the lengths of the movies I’ve watched in 2012, averaging at 105 minutes (think Gus Van Sant’s “Psycho”). The shortest movie was “Le ballon rouge” (1956), the longest “The Deer Hunter” (1978), although “The Hobbit” certainly felt longer…

Aaaaand…. that’s about all I’ve got for now.

Leave a Reply

