2012 in Television

I’ve looked back at the music I’ve listened to (albums, songs) and the movies I’ve watched (more on that might still be coming) in 2012, so I thought I’d recap the TV shows I’ve watched last year, too. Unfortunately I didn’t keep track of them as close as I did with the movies, but here’s what I remember, anyway.

January traditionally is the month I catch up with the last full season of “Community,” which in this case would be the second. January’s also when the one, last reality TV show that I’ll watch is on, “Ich bin ein Star – Holt mich hier raus!” (“I’m a Celebrity…Get Me Out of Here!”). And while I’m looking forward to the third season of “Community,” I’m not sure I’ll watch the jungle madness this year.

In spring I watched the remaining episodes of “Modern Family“‘s third season, and I think I sat through a couple of episodes of “How I Met Your Mother,” but the new ones are just so bad! A pity, really. Also I still watch the new “Simpsons,” because, you know, every once in a while there’ll be a decent one.

With April came Netflix, which I promptly used to (re)watch all of “30 Rock” and “Parks and Recreation.” Haven’t started the new seasons, yet, I think I’ll wait til they’re finished.

Also on Netflix I’ve watched 110 episodes of “Cheers” (that’s 40% of the whole run), a couple of episodes of the original “Star Trek” (which look great remastered in high-def), seven episodes of season 8 of “The X-Files” (which I, despite being a huge X-Phile, hadn’t seen until then) and the first two episodes of “Sherlock.”

Over the summer there were new episodes of “Louie” and “Futurama” and “Breaking Bad,” of course.

My and everybody I know’s favorite new(ish) comedy is “Happy Endings,” which we caught up on and then watched the new episodes in the fall. Other new shows I started were “The Mindy Project” and “The New Normal.”

Drama-wise there was “Homeland” (even after two seasons I’m not yet sure if I love-love or hate-love that show) and the first season of “American Horror Story” (which has some terrific talent involved).

October brought the complete, ten-seasons-set of “Friends” on blu-ray; I’m currently somewhere in season three of that. Around the same time I also started a rewatch of “Arrested Development,” in anticipation of the upcoming, new season.

For Christmas my brother got me, as he did for the last few years, the latest season of “The Simpsons” to come out on DVD (15!), and I used the last week of the year to watch two discs of that. (The episodes are actually pretty strong for a two-digit season, but as usual the best part are the audio commentaries.)

Did I forget anything? Yes! “Tatort.” Anything else? … Probably, yes.

Update: Thought of a couple more: Every episode of “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart,” “The Colbert Report” and “Real Time with Bill Maher” and, new to me this year, “QI.”

2 thoughts on “2012 in Television

  1. How I Mot Your Mother is bad now? Huh. I didn’t really notice any difference, but then again I didn’t get what all the fuss was about in the first place.

Leave a Reply

