[Criterion] “Fa yeung nin wa” (2000)/”Les quatre cents coups” (1959)

… also known as “In The Mood for Love” and “The 400 Blows.”

In The Mood for Love The 400 Blows

I said I wanted to go by order of the Criterion Collection spine numbers for watching the films on Netflix, but the much smarter thing to do is watch the ones that are about to expire from the service, first. So next up will be CC #615, “The Gold Rush.”

Also I’ve gone over the list and it turns out that I did watch two or three of the Collection’s titles since I had gotten the projector, so I’m going to retroactively include them in my project, too. Let’s start with one of them:

Wong Kar-wai’s “In the Mood for Love” (2000) is, as I already wrote earlier this month, one of the most beautiful things I have ever experienced. I was amazed by the craftsmanship on display here. Camera, music, script, acting… everything. Add to that two of the most handsome actors to ever appear on film in Tony Leung and Maggie Cheung. A masterpiece if I ever saw one. (5 stars)

I liked François Truffaut’s “The 400 Blows” (1959, that title a rather misinformed translation of the original “Les quatre cents coups“), but it took me a while to get into. Being an autobiographical remembrance of sorts of Truffaut’s own childhood, there isn’t really any story to keep the viewer engaged, more of a series of events, not all of which were able to stir my interest. The film is quite funny at times and Jean-Pierre Léaud as the young Antoine Doinel gives a very good performance, especially in scenes near the end of the film. (4 stars)

Leave a Reply

