This and that

It’s been a while since I posted a collection of links and things I’ve enjoyed on the web (and off it) in the last couple of days. I’ll try to make these a more regular thing from now on.

Orange is the New Black

Orange is the New Black.” Believe the hype. I enjoyed the first couple of episodes, but didn’t really see the greatness that so many have attested to this Netflix-exclusive series. But with each episode it just gets better and better. I’m half-way through the 13 episode run and I’m deliberately trying to take my time with the rest. At least that way the wait for the already announced second season won’t take quite so long.

Plus: Great song by Regina Spektor over the opening credits.


Boycotting the Olympics. There’s Stephen Fry’s moving, open letter to David Cameron and the IOC in which he lays bare the alarming similarities between today’s treatment of LGBT Russians with that of Jews in 1933 Germany. And there are plenty other essays and calls for action out there. I don’t think a boycott will be happening, but I do hope brave athletes off all orientations will find ways to display their believes in basic human rights and decency for the world stage, but especially for the Russian people and their government thugs to see.


“Sacrilege” by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Have always loved this band, and the new record is great, but this music video really is something else. This is pure, uncut cinema.

Watch it below or download it in SD (legal, just right-click here and select ‘Save as’) or HD (maybe not as legal?).

Like “The Devil and God are Raging Inside Me” or “The Tree of Life” this is art that gets to my very core, that lets me experience raw emotion, that leaves me mentally and physically exhausted.

It’s the very best kind of art.

One thought on “This and that

  1. Pingback: Do It With a Rockstar | Nebel without a cause

Leave a Reply

